Jun. 18, 2019

HARRISBURG – Rep. Ryan Warner’s (R-Fayette/Westmoreland) legislation aiming to protect taxpayers from excessive state spending has earned the approval of the House State Government Committee. The Taxpayer Protection Act will next go to the full House for consideration.

“One of the main reasons I came to Harrisburg was to help get state spending under control, and my Taxpayer Protection Act will go a long way toward achieving that goal,” Warner said. “I am hopeful the full House will take up the bill very soon so we can keep this process moving forward.”

House Bill 1316 proposes an amendment to the Pennsylvania Constitution that would establish state budget spending limits that the Commonwealth – and lawmakers – would have to abide by each fiscal year.

“We are in the thick of budget negotiations, and while this spending limit is not yet in place, the committee’s action on this bill today draws much-needed attention to the importance of keeping our spending in check,” Warner said. “As we look at each line item in the budget, we need to be respectful of the people who foot the bill – our taxpayers.”

Watch Warner’s comments to the committee in support of the bill here.

Warner noted that since 1970, total government spending, even when adjusted for inflation, has increased by 101%.

The proposed constitutional amendment would limit the rate at which the Commonwealth’s spending may increase, based on the sum of the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index and the change in population growth.

In order to amend the state Constitution, identical bills must be approved by the General Assembly in two consecutive sessions and then be presented to Pennsylvania voters as a referendum. If established, this amendment to the Pennsylvania Constitution only could be suspended by a 75% majority vote in both the House and Senate.

The 52nd Legislative District includes the city of Connellsville; Dawson, Dunbar, Everson, Perryopolis, Seven Springs, South Connellsville and Vanderbilt boroughs; Bullskin, Connellsville, Dunbar, Lower Tyrone, Menallen, North Union, Perry, Saltlick and Upper Tyrone townships in Fayette County, along with Scottdale Borough, and part of East Huntingdon Township in Westmoreland County.

Representative Ryan Warner
52nd Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Patricia Hippler
RepWarner.com / Facebook.com/RepWarner