Mar. 16, 2023

CONNELLSVILLE – Sen. Patrick Stefano (R-32) and Rep. Ryan Warner (R-Fayette) announced today more than $1.7 million in state grants have been awarded to a dozen communities in Fayette County.

“Fayette County residents will benefit from more than $1.7 million in local improvements that might not have happened without these grants,” Stefano said. “I’m honored that, with Rep. Warner, I was able to secure grants that minimize the burden felt by our hard-working families.”

“I was pleased to advocate for grants to support important, basic community needs, including equipment, water and sewer systems, road repairs and more,” Warner said. “These are necessary and valuable investments in Fayette County communities and citizens.”

The grants were awarded as follows:

· Bullskin Township:

o $74,690 for the purchase of new municipal equipment.

o $236,592 for the purchase of an excavator.

· Connellsville City: $50,000 for creation of a master plan for West Side Flats.

· Connellsville Township:

o $31,000 for costs associated with an Act 537 sewage facilities plan.

o $40,512 for parking lot improvements at the Connellsville Volunteer Fire Department.

o $32,109 for parking lot improvements at the township building parking lot.

o $47,769 for installation of a salt shed.

· Dawson Borough: $45,813 to repave North Dawson Hill.

· Dunbar Borough:

o $46,084 for repairs to the Short Street retaining wall over Dunbar Creek.

o $26,349 for police and fire department equipment.

o $31,276 for paving First Street.

o $75,581 to purchase a skid steer with attachments.

· Dunbar Borough Dunbar Township Sanitary Authority: $40,535 for the installation of a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system at the sewer pump station in Dunbar Borough.

· Everson Borough: $125,000 to rehabilitate and upgrade the municipal building.

· Perry Township Municipal Authority: $200,000 for improvements to the Wickhaven Wastewater Treatment Plant and Banning, Whitsett, and Rehoboth Pump Stations.

· South Connellsville Borough: $207,870 for reconstruction of Casparis Road.

· Stewart Township: $179,200 for a wheel loader.

· Upper Tyrone Township: $106,068 for the purchase of a new borough truck.

· Vanderbilt Borough: $113,475 for replacement of the storm water system on Bank Street.

The grants were approved today by the Commonwealth Financing Authority and are funded by the Local Share Account program, which is funded through state gaming revenues.

Representative Ryan Warner
52nd Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives