Feb. 13, 2024

HARRISBURG – Reps. Ryan Warner (R-Fayette) and Charity Grimm Krupa (R-Fayette) today announced that fire and ambulance companies in the county will collectively receive $638,560 in state grants to support their public safety mission.

“We are blessed by the outstanding fire and emergency service personnel who selflessly serve our communities, protecting lives and property,” Warner said. “These grants not only show our appreciation but also aim to relieve some of the financial challenges facing these organizations.”

“Without question, our emergency responders are counted among our greatest hometown heroes,” said Krupa. “It is great to see so many local fire and ambulance companies taking advantage of this zero federal strings-attached grant program in order to ensure their overall safety, preparedness and organizational survival both now and in the future. I am thankful to see this funding returning to our area in a way that benefits and helps to protect every person across Fayette County.”

The funding comes from an ongoing grant program created by the Legislature and administered by the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency and Office of the State Fire Commissioner (OSFC). All funding comes from the proceeds from slot machine gaming, and not General Fund tax revenue.

Grants may be used toward construction or renovation of a fire or ambulance company facility, purchase or repair of equipment, training, recruitment and retention, or debt. In order to receive their funding, each organization must file a grant agreement with OSFC.

The grants were awarded as follows:

· Adah Volunteer Fire Department: $14,034.16.

· Belle Vernon Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Brownsville Ambulance Service Inc.: $15,000.

· Brownsville Fire Company No. 1: $14,812.24.

· Bullskin Township Volunteer Fire Company: $13,645.11.

· Chief Williams Hook and Ladder Volunteer Fire Company: $14,617.72.

· Connellsville Township Volunteer Fire Department: $15,006.77.

· Dawson Volunteer Fire Company: $13,450.59.

· Dickerson Run Liberty and Vanderbilt Volunteer Fire Department: $15,006.77.

· Dunbar Volunteer Fire Company: $13,839.63.

· Edenborn Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Everson Volunteer Fire Company: $14,617.72.

· Farmington Volunteer Fire Department: $16,951.99.

· Fayette City Volunteer Fire Company: $13,450.59.

· Fayette Emergency Medical Service: $10,000.

· Footedale Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Grindstone Community Volunteer Fire Company: $13,061.55.

· Hiller Volunteer Fire Company (EMS): $10,000.

· Hiller Volunteer Fire Company (fire): $15,066.77.

· Hopwood Volunteer Fire Department: $16,173.90.

· Keystone Fire Company: $14,423.20.

· Markleysburg Henry Clay Volunteer Fire Department: $14,617.72.

· Masontown Volunteer Fire Department: $13,645.11.

· McClellandtown Volunteer Fire Company: $13,061.55.

· Morrell Volunteer Fire Company: $12,000.

· New Haven Hose Company Volunteer Fire Department: $13,839.63.

· New Salem Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Newell Volunteer Fire Company: $13,061.55.

· Normalville Area Volunteer Fire Department: $14,423.20.

· North Union Township Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Ohiopyle Stewart Volunteer Fire Company: $13,839.63.

· Point Marion Volunteer Fire Department (EMS): $15,000.

· Point Marion Volunteer Fire Department (Fire): $13,645.11.

· Republic Volunteer Fire Company: $14,812.24.

· Ronco Volunteer Fire Department: $13,061.55.

· Saltlick Township Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Smithfield Volunteer Fire Department: $14,617.72.

· Smock Volunteer Fire Department: $15,000.

· South Connellsville Volunteer Fire Company: $13,061.55.

· South Union Volunteer Fire Company: $14,228.68.

· Springfield Township Volunteer Hose Company: $14,228.68.

· Tower Hill 2 Volunteer Fire Department: $13,256.07.

· Union Hose Company No. 1 Volunteer Fire Company: $15,784.85.

· Uniontown Fire Department: $13,061.55.

· Washington Township Volunteer Fire Company: $14,228.68.

· West Leisenring Volunteer Fire Department: $13,450.59.

Representative Ryan Warner
52nd Legislative District

Representative Charity Grimm Krupa
51st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives